Does taking collagen orally even work?
Collagen proteins are absorbed by the body in the small intestine. From there, they are distributed throughout the body and can be stored for up to two weeks. The body decides where these collagen proteins go - whether that is in the skin, joints, connective tissue, or elsewhere - depending on where it needs collagen most and which type of collagen is being used.
Why do I only need such a small amount of Collagen Kick?
The patented natural-origin collagen active ingredient ("native") from Ovomet® is effective for skin and joints in the recommended dosage of just 300mg.
The process of separating the membrane from the eggshell is also patented, and Ovomet® retains the advantageous natural composition of the eggshell membrane. We think it's quite impressive, as it contains not only type I, V and X collagen, but also hyaluronic acid, elastin, glucosamine, chondroitin sulphate and several other proteins.
Collagen supplements from beef, pork or fish usually contain between 2,5 and 10g of hydrolyzed collagen. Ovomet®’s, on the other hand, produces a highly concentrated collagen product with the ideal amount of collagen of 300mg. Even better - the environmental impact of the production process is very low as only water and mechanical forces are used during production.
Where is collagen found in nature?
In nature, collagen is always derived from animals.
- Beef or pork (type I collagen)
- Fish (marine collagen, type I)
- Chicken cartilage (type II collagen)
-Membrane of chicken eggshells (type I collagen) = vegetarian collagen.
Why do you say that your collagen is vegetarian if it is derived from chicken eggs?
Vegetarians eat products from living animals in addition to plant-based foods. Vegetarians do not eat beef, pork, chicken or fish, as they are killed for consumption. However, vegetarians do eat animal-derived foods such as dairy products, eggs and honey. Since our collagen is produced from eggshell membranes, it is vegetarian as the hens who lay the eggs are not killed for their eggs.
However, our collagen is not vegan because vegans only eat plant-based foods and do not consume any animal products (including eggs).
Does vegan collagen exist?
Plants do not produce collagen. So, no, naturally occurring vegan collagen exists. There are, however, plant compounds that promote collagen production, such as amino acids, ceramides, minerals (like copper) and antioxidants like vitamin C.
Most vegan collagen products only contain amino acids that make up the structure, or building blocks, of collagen. The likelihood of these forming a collagen molecule is low. Research is still ongoing for synthetic vegan collagens that are produced through the fermentation of yeasts and bacteria. However, the effectiveness of microbial collagen has not yet been confirmed in any reliable studies to date.
Can I take Collagen Kick together with XbyX Daily Energy?
Absolutely! And the good news is that this combination is particularly effective. XbyX Daily Energy contains vital nutrients that help the body to produce collagen. These nutrients include the amino acids L-proline, L-lysine, L-methionine, and L-arginine. The body needs these amino acids to use selenium and L-arginine serves as a precursor to the formation of the collagen peptide hydroxyproline. You might also want to try adding our XbyX All Things Omega to Collagen Kick for the health benefit from the omega-3 fats EPA and DHA it contains.
Should I take different types of collagen for my skin and my joints?
Your body knows where the greatest collagen deficiency is in your body and sends it where it’s needed most. You might take collagen to soften your wrinkles or to make your joints more supple. But ultimately when you take collagen, your body uses it for whatever it needs.